Posted by: craigsblogs72 | April 28, 2013

7 weeks sober and loving life

It’s amazing how quickly time flies when you focus on a goal and enjoy the little steps along the way. The goal is to stay sober for six months and as of Friday, it has been seven weeks and to be honest, I am enjoying the living shit out of staying dry! Here’s what’s been happening since the start of drying out:

* My energy levels were pretty good when I was drinking, but now I’m like a nuclear explosion – just hard to contain!

* Relaxing on Friday and Saturday nights as opposed to get getting “blotto like Otto” from the Simpson’s has allowed new insights into my life, how I cope with quiet times and waking up full of beans the next day.

* Whilst my waist line hasn’t shrunk too much (I eat like a mofo so I can train hard in the gym), there’s definitely a decrease in size and no “turkey chin” after a weekend on the sauce.

* There’s more money in the bank!

* My relationship with myself and that of those close to me have vastly improved – dramatically improved!

Life now holds a renewed invigoration, a new level of energy and just an overall sense of well-being that I have missed. The idea of drinking heavily again isn’t on the radar and doesn’t even rear it’s ugly head when the weekend rocks around. And the focus that comes with a continually clear head – WOW!!!

There’s probably a lot of you out there that have never had to face a challenge of admitting to a drinking problem. For years I denied its existence. There’s definitely a lot of regrettable moments but it’s who I was and maybe I had to go through all the trials and tribulations to walk out the outside holding my head high. And I know my girl is highly appreciative that I’m more alive on the weekends and not passing out early on a Friday or Saturday night. Love you angel.

It’s Monday tomorrow and I start a new job. FREAKING PUMPED! I don’t think the guys know what they are in for with a well oiled machine that is running at 110% capacity. Game on!

Sorry there aren’t any pictures of videos. Will get back to my normal format tomorrow.

GET YOUR BOOGIE ON PEOPLE!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

